Addicted to Audiobooks

*

I’m going to take a break from Fly Girl updates (suffice it to say: ugh!) and give a little plug for audiobooks.  I joined Audible about a year and a half ago (inspired largely by the 2KnitLitChicks podcast).  It’s been worth every single penny.  I’ve doubled my reading output because I’ve always got one book I’m listening to on my phone (while walking the dogs, driving) and another physical/Kindle book that I’m reading at night before bed.  I’ve listened to so many great audiobooks over the last 18 months, but here a few of my faves:

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks – This true story tops the list.  Don’t let the subject matter steer you away from this remarkable, multi-layered book overflowing with humanity.

Where’d You Go, Bernadette – Hilarious, touching and clever, this book is also expertly narrated.

Wild – Impossible to put down, Wild is a non-fiction book about a physical and emotional journey.

Huckleberry Finn – Wonderfully narrated, this version allowed me to catch the nuances that I missed in high school.

State of Wonder – Ann Patchett books can be hit or miss, but this is right up there with Bel Canto.

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn – As lovely to me as a grown up as it was when I was an adolescent.

Gone With the Wind – I was riveted for all 40 (!) hours.

Bossypants – If you don’t like this book narrated by Tina Fey herself, we cannot be friends.

This is just a sampling of the many spectacular books I’ve listened to.  Ping me if you want more recommendations!  Right now, I’m listening to a lecture on how to structure a compelling narrative.  After the Fly Girl feedback I got in the last week, I need it!

* Image courtesy of whatredread.blogspot.com.

2 comments
  1. adrienne go said:

    Loved your list! Audible has been a Godsend for the past 10 years, allowing me to “read” as I exercise and drive the 50 mile commute. Adding to your list — The Help (the audio version features two different narrators), and Barbara Kingsolver’s The Prodigal Summer. The latter is one of Kingsolver’s older books, but she actually narrates this book. The result celebrates regional accents and is utterly charming.

    • Leslie A. Gordon said:

      Great suggestions. I’m so glad you encouraged me to join Audible!

Leave a Reply

