Highly Recommend

Since it’s #fridayreads in Twitter land, I thought I’d let readers here know about a book that I recently finished and loved.  Actually, there’s more to it than that.  I listened to the audio version of Rules of Civility and loved it so much that when it was over, I immediately started reading the hard-copy version, pen in hand.  It’s a stunning book — an engaging story told in lyrical language.  As a writer, what I find particularly inspiring is that this is Amor Towles’s first published novel.  He apparently spent years working on another book that went nowhere before writing Rules of Civility.  It kind of makes me feel better about losing six months working on Fly Girl.

If you decide to read it, let me know if you love it as much as I do!

628x471

 

2 comments
  1. Thanks for the book recommendation. My summer reads, so far have been “The Humanity Project” by Jean Thomson, “The Burgess Boys” by one of my favorite authors, Elizabeth Strout (“Olive Kitteridge,” “Amy & Isabelle” and “These Dreams of You” by Stephen Erickson, a tough read!

    • Leslie A. Gordon said:

      I will check those out. And I heard you got good news – mazel tov.

Leave a Reply

